BAL Ratings - Bushfire Attack Levels


The Building Code of Australia (BCA) has been updated to reflect new Australian Standards in regards to bushfire safety requirements.

Australian Standard AS 3959 classifies different bushfire intensity levels that a home may experience during a bushfire. These are referred to as Bushfire Attack Levels, or BAL’s for short.

The new Standard has 6 levels of severity expressed, spanning from BAL – LOW (the lowest level) to BAL – FZ (the highest level).

Knowing a homes level as classified in the AS 3959 document will not only help prepare to the right level, but also makes people more aware of the bushfire danger around their properties.

There are 6 bushfire attack levels:

  • BAL Low
  • BAL 12.5
  • BAL 19
  • BAL 29
  • BAL 40
  • BAL Flame Zone

Individual levels are based on the following factors:

  • The region where you live.
  • The vegetation type around your property.
  • The distance from your home to individual vegetation types.
  • Slope on the property.

With all these factors considered, an appropriate BAL Level can be determined. Products rated at BAL levels are able to withstand exposure to the conditions associated.

The aim of the residential building standard for bushfire protection is to improve the ability of a building to withstand a bushfire attack. This will provide greater protection for the occupants who may be sheltering inside while the fire front passes.

The Southern Star Group has products with various BAL ratings to suit any project requirement. BAL Ratings can be found at www.windowsanddoors.build

To determine your home’s BAL rating and any special requirements for building in your area, consult your local council, government or local fire authority.

Showrooms Contact us